The Victorian Schools' Rugby Union (VSRU) was formed on 10 October 1972 although the first recorded games of Rugby at schools level were played between Scotch College and Melbourne Grammar in the late nineteenth century. The early matches of the newly formed union were a series of invitations between Geelong Grammar, Melbourne Grammar and Scotch College played at the end of their Australian Rules football season.

In 1933 the VRU first introduced the code to State Schools and in 1934 established the Victorian Junior Rugby Union. While at the same time some of what were then known as the 'public' schools, notably Scotch College, and the Royal Australian Naval College (RANC) continued to arrange inter-school matches and together with the VJRU organised  occasional games against interstate teams . In the 1950's Scotch College remained the strongest team of the period with, the only other contender being Geelong Grammar with undefeated 1st XV's four times in the 1960s. Initially rugby matches were only played between the schools from the Associated Public Schools of Victoria, but that has since grown to include schools from the Associated Grammar Schools of Victoria, the Associated Catholic Colleges of Victoria, State Government schools and provincial country schools. Since 1991, the VSRU competition has been formalised with ladders and competition winners recognised amongst a number of different grades and age groups.



Xavier College is proud to be hosting the 24th Xavier Sevens Carnival in 2018 for the Victorian Schools Rugby Union. The tournament will be held on Saturday 21st April, 2018.

Entry will be $150 per team (invoiced after the event), which will cover the cost of referees, medical support and support the cost of the infrastructure of the day. We hope to welcome to Xavier as many schools as possible from across the state for what should be an action packed day of running rugby.

Please be aware that it is possible that footage from the day (particularly Open finals) will be made available on the Melbourne Rebels and Rugby Victoria website after the tournament has concluded. You are encouraged to follow your school’s protocols regarding gaining permission for students’ images being disseminated in this way.

Click Here: 2018 Xavier 7s ENTRY FORM

Please return this form to: Shyamala.Kumaresan@xavier.vic.edu.au prior to the Monday 11th March, 2018.


Current full VSRU Members:

  • Brighton Grammar School
  • Carey Grammar School
  • Geelong Grammar School
  • Haileybury College
  • Ivanhoe Grammar School
  • Marcellin College
  • Melbourne Grammar School
  • Melbourne High School
  • Scotch College
  • St. Francis Xavier College
  • St. Kevin's College
  • St. Patrick's College (Ballarat)
  • Trinity Grammar School
  • Xavier College

Current associate VSRU Members:

  • St. Peter's Cranbourne
  • Beaconhills College

For more information on the VSRU and its competitions please click here: http://vsru.sportzvault.com/